Journal Entry 171

Regarding my trip overseas to aid a missionary and his family, I came to the conclusion that the Lord’s promises are with me on certain conditions. First and foremost, I am redeemed by the blood of Christ and enslaved to His sovereignty. Secondly, there is wisdom involved that which I asked for during this trial. James 1:5 says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.” Of course, there is a prerequisite to asking and that is faith in God. By faith, I asked for much wisdom in making the decision to fly to the Middle East to serve for God’s kingdom. Having wisdom from above unlocks the promises of Proverbs 3:21-26. It says, “My son, do not lose sight of these keep sound wisdom and discretion, and they will be life to your soul and adornment for your neck. Then you will walk on your way securely, and your foot will not stumble. If you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. Do not be afraid of sudden terror or of the ruin of the wicked, when it comes for the LORD will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being caught.”

By God’s grace, I have received good counsel from godly men that were not all of the same. I considered every input I received. Proverbs 12:15 “The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man listens to advice.” Proverbs 15:22 says, “Without counsel plans fail, but with many advisers they succeed.” Everyone Christian that I spoke with were not against me going to this foreign country and serve at this time of my life. My parents eventually gave me the liberty to go at my own will.

The following texts are foundational to me finding peace to serve for three weeks:

Ephesians 2:8-10 “For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” **This is the ultimate reason why I am going.

James 1:27 “Religion that is pure and undefiled before God the Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.” **This is my biggest rationale of why I want to do this specific labor.

Psalm 51:12-13 “Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you.” **This is such an encouraging verse for me, knowing that there is restoration n the joy of God’s salvation. The NKJV says “…Your generous Spirit.”

2 Timothy 2:21-22 “Therefore, if anyone cleanses himself from what is dishonorable, he will be a vessel for honorable use, set apart as holy, useful to the master of the house, ready for every good work. So flee youthful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.” **Fleeing from youthful passions is only one half of God’s will. The other necessary part is pursuing righteousness along with the co-laborers of the Gospel. 

George Mueller listed Pros and Cons when contemplating on buying a new building for the orphanage. Like him, the Pros for me outweigh the Cons. One of the benefits of me going is that now there are multiple churches in Illinois praying for this work.

Exodus 17:11 “Whenever Moses held up his hand, Israel prevailed, and whenever he lowered his hand, Amalek prevailed.” 

May God be with me during this trip that I may come back to give good reports.

 

 

 

Leave a comment